Kaduna, Oyo LG elections for May 15

Share and Enjoy !


THE Kaduna State Independent Electoral Commission, on Monday, announced May 15, 2021 for the conduct of election into the 23 local government areas of the state.

The Overseer of the state electoral body, Mr Ibrahim Sambo, made this known while presenting the election time table to the political parties in the state.

Sambo recalled that the election of the current local government chairmen held on May 12, 2018 and certificates of return issued to the winners on May 19, 2018, adding that “in consonance with Section 25(1)of Kaduna State Independent Electoral Commission law No. 2, 2018, the election will hold on May 15, 2021, which will terminate their three years in office.”

He said “To safeguard going against the law, we are supposed to give political parties 90 days’ notice of election, which we are doing now.

“By Section 25 (1) of the Kaduna State Independent Electoral Law as amended in 2018, we announce that local government elections will hold on Saturday, May 15, 2021 between hours of 8am and 4pm.”

Similarly, the Chairman of the Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission, Isiaka Olagunju SAN, announced that the local government election in the state would hold on May 15, 2021.

Olagunju said, “Space would be opened for campaign between February 17 to 14th May. We need the stakeholders support and cooperation for the success of this programme. You will agree with me that the constitution empowers us to announce the election date. We shall, hereafter, write political parties in a bid to notify them officially.”

READ  Ngige and Arthur Eze fight becomes more serious

Asked of the time when the sitting caretaker chairmen in the councils would vacate their seats, he said, “What I know is that they are to be there for three months and the period would expire.”

While calling for support from all stakeholders, he said, “In compliance with Section 30 Electoral Act 2010 (as amended), Section 5 (a) and Paragraph 1 (1) Schedule 2 of the State Independent Electoral Commission Law CAP 154, Laws of Oyo State of Nigeria 2000, the general public is hereby informed that elections will be conducted in 33 local government councils in Oyo State on Saturday 15th May, 2021 between 8am and 3pm.”

Share and Enjoy !

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x