Agencies merger: Things to know about Stephen Oronsaye

On Monday, the Federal Government authorised the execution of several recommendations from the Stephen Oronsaye Report aimed at lowering the expense of governance.

Following the Federal Executive Council meeting at the Aso Rock Villa in Abuja on Monday, Mohammed Idris, the Minister of Information and National Orientation, disclosed this to State House media.

29 government agencies will combine after the adoption by the highest authority, and eight parastatals will become part of eight additional agencies.

Four agencies have also been moved to four different ministries, and one has been designated for elimination.

Establishing the Presidential Committee on the Rationalisation and Restructuring of Federal Government Parastatals, Commissions, and Agencies was a 2012 initiative of President Goodluck Jonathan's government.
Former Head of Service of the Federation and retired federal civil servant Stephen Oronsaye chaired the committee.

The committee led by Oronsaye is comprised of the following members: Umar A. Mohammed, Japh CT Nwosu, Adetunji Adesunkanmi, Rabiu Abubakar, N. Salman Mann, and Hamza A. Tahir.
The committee's report was titled for Oronsaye, and here are some facts about the man.

Born on November 16, 1950, in Lagos State, Stephen Osagiede Oronsaye was raised in the state.

Uhunmwonde and Oredo Local Government Areas in Edo State were the places of his parents' origin. June 2009 saw his appointment as the Federation's Head of Civil Service.

Oronsaye launched a number of reform initiatives to realign the civil service upon his appointment.

Upon attaining the statutory retirement age, he retired on November 16, 2010. He was succeeded by Oladapo Afolabi.
- From 1973 to 1978, Oronsaye received training at the Peat Marwick Castleton Elliot firm, where she eventually became a qualified chartered accountant in 1978. In the firm, he rose to the rank of Partner in 1989.

- As Director, Special Duties, Oronsaye began working for the Federal Ministry of Finance in December 1995.

He became President Olusegun Obasanjo's principal secretary in 1999.

He was afterwards confirmed as the State House's Permanent Secretary.

The committee assigned to examine the 2006 Civil Service Rules and Financial Regulations was chaired by Oronsaye.

In August 2008, he was designated as the Federal Ministry of Finance's Permanent Secretary.